COUNCIL

At a meeting of Annual Council on Thursday, 16 May 2013 in the Council Chamber, Runcorn Town Hall

> Present: Councillors Baker, J. Bradshaw, M. Bradshaw, Cassidy, Cole, Dennett, Edge, Fraser, Fry, Gerrard, Gilligan, Harris, P. Hignett, R. Hignett, S. Hill, V. Hill, Hodge, Horabin, Jones, M Lloyd Jones, P. Lloyd Jones, Morley, C. Loftus, K. Loftus, Logan, A. Lowe, J. Lowe, MacManus, McDermott, A.McInerney, T. McInerney, Nelson, Nolan, Osborne, Parker, Philbin, C. Plumpton Walsh, N.Plumpton Walsh, Polhill, Ratcliffe, Rowe, Sinnott, G. Stockton, J. Stockton, Thompson, Wainwright, Wharton, Woolfall, Wright and Zygadllo

> Apologies for Absence: Councillors D. Cargill, E. Cargill, Howard, Lea, Roberts and Wallace

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: M. Reaney, A. Scott, D. Johnson, I. Leivesley, G. Meehan D. Parr and E O'Meara

Also in attendance: Invited guests

COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Action

Moved by Councillor Rowe and seconded by Councillor Gareth Stockton –

RESOLVED: That Councillor Margaret Ratcliffe be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

Moved by Councillor Wright and seconded by Councillor Philbin –

RESOLVED: That Councillor Shaun Osborne be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

THE MAYOR (COUNCILLOR MARGARET RATCLIFFE) IN THE CHAIR

COU2 COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of the meetings of Council held on 17 April 2013, having been printed and circulated, were taken as read and signed as a correct record. RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meetings be confirmed and adopted.

COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor made the following announcements:-

- 1) That the Charities she would support during her term of office would be:
 - HEARTS;
 - Delamere Cancer Support and Information Centre; and
 - The Canal Boat Adventure Project
- 2) The Mayor's Chaplain for 2013/14 would be Reverend Beth Gardner.
- COU4 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) 14 MAY 2013

The following recommendations of the Executive Board (Selection Committee) were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor.

COU5 DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL 2013/14

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mike Wharton be appointed as the Deputy Leader for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

COU6 BOARDS, COMMITTEES, APPEALS PANEL AND WORKING PARTY

RESOLVED: That the Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2013/14:

Executive Board (10)

Councillors Polhill, (Chairman), D. Cargill, Harris, R. Hignett, Jones, Nelson, Philbin, J. Stockton, Wharton and Wright.

Mersey Gateway Executive Board (5)

Councillors Polhill (Chairman), Wharton, R Hignett, Jones and J Stockton

Health & Wellbeing Board Councillors Polhill, Philbin, Gerrard and Wright

Corporate Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chairman), J Roberts (Vice Chairman) E Cargill, Dennett, S Hill, C. Loftus, A Lowe, A McInerney, N Plumpton Walsh, G Stockton, and Wainwright.

Health Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors E. Cargill (Chairman), J. Lowe (Vice Chairman), Baker, Dennett, V Hill, Hodge, Horabin, C Loftus, Sinnott, Wallace and Zygadllo

Environment and Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gerrard (Chairman), Morley (Vice Chairman), J Bradshaw, Fraser, P Hignett, MacManus, T McInerney, Sinnott, Thompson, Woolfall and Zygadllo.

Employment, Learning, Skills and Community Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Edge (Chairman), C Plumpton Walsh (Vice Chairman), Cassidy, Howard, P Lloyd Jones, Logan, MacManus, Parker, Roberts, Rowe, and Zygadllo.

Children, Young People and Families Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dennett (Chairman), Horabin (Vice Chairman), M. Bradshaw, E Cargill, Cassidy, Fraser, P Hignett, K Loftus, Logan, C. Plumpton Walsh and Woolfall

Safer Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Osborne (Chairman), N Plumpton Walsh (Vice Chairman), Edge, Gerrard, Gilligan, Hodge, V Hill, Lea, M Lloyd Jones, Nolan, and Sinnott.

Development Control Committee (13)

Councillors Nolan (Chairman), Thompson (Vice Chairman), Baker, Cole, R Hignett, S Hill, C Loftus, A McInerney, T McInerney, Morley, Osborne, C Plumpton Walsh and Rowe.

Business Efficiency Board (11)

Councillors A. Lowe (Chairman), M Lloyd Jones (Vice Chairman), Cole, Fry, Lea, MacManus, McDermott, N Plumpton Walsh, Roberts, G Stockton and Wainwright.

Standards Committee (9)

Councillors P Lloyd Jones (Chairman) M Bradshaw, Cole, Gerrard, J Lowe, McDermott, T McInerney, Parker, Wainwright and Woolfall.

Appeals Panel (20)

Councillors Wainwright (Chairman), A McInerney (Vice Chairman), Baker, M Bradshaw, Cassidy, Cole, Edge, Fry, Gilligan, S Hill, V Hill, Howard, M Lloyd Jones,

P Lloyd Jones, K Loftus, Logan, Parker, Ratcliffe, Wallace and Woolfall.

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors K Loftus (Chairman), Wallace (Vice-Chairman), Fraser, Fry, P Hignett, Howard, Lea, A. Lowe, McDermott, Nelson and G Stockton

Local Development Framework Working Party (15)

Councillors R Hignett (Chairman), J Bradshaw, Cole, Gerrard, MacManus, Morley, Nolan, Parker, Ratcliffe, C Plumpton Walsh, Roberts, Thompson, Wainwright, Woolfall and Zygadllo

Mayoral Committee (5)

The incumbent Mayor (Councillor Ratcliffe) and Councillors Gilligan, T. McInerney, Morley, and Wright

Appointments Committee (6)

Councillors Polhill, and Wharton (plus relevant PPB Chairs x 2) and Opposition Group Leaders (Ratcliffe and J Bradshaw)

COU7 APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Tony McDermott be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the Municipal Year 2013/14.

COU8 APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEE TO THE HEALTH POLICY AND PERFORMANCE BOARD

> RESOLVED: That the appointment of Mr John Chiocchi as the Healthwatch Halton representative to the Health Policy and Performance Board for the Municipal Year 2013/14 be confirmed.

COU9 APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The Council considered a report of the Strategic Director, Policy and Resources, regarding the appointment of Members to serve on various outside bodies. A document was tabled showing the recommendations put forward.

RESOLVED: That representatives be appointed to

outside bodies in accordance with the tabled report.

COU10 EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS

The Leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following portfolio holders for the Municipal Year 2013/14:

Leader's – Councillor Polhill Children, Young People and Families– Councillor Philbin Health and Adults – Councillor Wright Transportation– Councillor John Stockton Community Safety– Councillor Dave Cargill Economic Development – Councillor Jones Resources – Councillor Wharton Environmental Sustainability – Councillor Nelson Neighbourhood, Leisure and Sport – Councillor Harris. Physical Environment – Councillor Ron Hignett

RESOLVED: That the portfolios be noted.

COU11 CIVIC SUNDAY

The Mayor announced her intention to attend a Civic Service at St Michael and All Angels Church, Greenway Road, Runcorn on Sunday 30 June 2013 at 10.00am.

Meeting ended at 7.05 p.m.